| Governmental Activities | Business-Type Activities | Total |
| 2023 | 2022 | 2023 | 2022 | 2023 | 2022 |
| Program Revenues | | | | | | |
| Fines, fees, and charges for services | $ 4,163,989 | $ 4,049,421 | $ 10,324,202 | $ 10,088,283 | $ 14,488,191 | $ 14,137,704 |
| Operating grants and contributions | 21,140,102 | 7,946,421 | - | 95,836 | 21,140,102 | 8,042,257 |
| Capital grants and contributions | 6,583,404 | 962,569 | - | - | 6,583,404 | 962,569 |
| General Revenues | | | | | | |
| Property and other County tax | 33,194,779 | 34,164,139 | - | - | 33,194,779 | 34,164,139 |
| Penalty and interest on property tax | 181,179 | 193,268 | - | - | 181,179 | 193,268 |
| State tax credits | 2,393,470 | 2,570,815 | - | - | 2,393,470 | 2,570,815 |
| Local option sales tax | 5,159,445 | 5,412,295 | - | - | 5,159,445 | 5,412,295 |
| Gambling taxes | 621,276 | 669,842 | - | - | 621,276 | 669,842 |
| Unrestricted investment earnings | 960,636 | 221,937 | - | - | 960,636 | 221,937 |
| Miscellaneous | 1,299,487 | 920,825 | 144,707 | 146,307 | 1,444,194 | 1,067,132 |
| Total revenues | 75,697,767 | 57,111,532 | 10,468,909 | 10,330,426 | 86,166,676 | 67,441,958 |
| Program Expenses | | | | | | |
| Public safety and legal services | 19,993,571 | 17,397,392 | - | - | 19,993,571 | 17,397,392 |
| Physical health and social services | 4,516,424 | 2,232,111 | - | - | 4,516,424 | 2,232,111 |
| Mental health | - | 3,754,153 | - | - | - | 3,754,153 |
| County environment and education | 7,709,880 | 4,204,592 | - | - | 7,709,880 | 4,204,592 |
| Roads and transportation | 13,913,309 | 14,012,188 | - | - | 13,913,309 | 14,012,188 |
| Governmental services to residents | 1,859,250 | 1,876,299 | - | - | 1,859,250 | 1,876,299 |
| Administration | 5,815,885 | 4,743,464 | - | - | 5,815,885 | 4,743,464 |
| Non-program | 185,542 | 82,737 | - | - | 185,542 | 82,737 |
| Interest on long-term debt | 708,511 | 781,627 | - | - | 708,511 | 781,627 |
| Sunnycrest Operations | - | - | 12,115,714 | 10,890,763 | 12,115,714 | 10,890,763 |
| Total expenses | 54,702,372 | 49,084,563 | 12,115,714 | 10,890,763 | 66,818,086 | 59,975,326 |
| Increase (Decrease) in Net Position Before Transfers | 20,995,395 | 8,026,969 | (1,646,805) | (560,337) | 19,348,590 | 7,466,632 |
| Transfers | (2,324,551) | (1,427,469) | 2,324,551 | 1,427,469 | - | - |
| Increase (Decrease) in Net Position | 18,670,844 | 6,599,500 | 677,746 | 867,132 | 19,348,590 | 7,466,632 |
| Net Position (Deficit) Beginning of the Year | 173,475,725 | 166,876,225 | (1,772,122) | (2,639,254) | 171,703,603 | 164,236,971 |
| Net Position (Deficit) End of the Year | $ 192,146,569 | $ 173,475,725 | $ (1,094,376) | $ (1,772,122) | $ 191,052,193 | $ 171,703,603 |
Taxes decreased by $969,361 or 2.84%, during the year. This decrease represents a taxable valuation growth of 3.04%, along with a 52.817-cent decrease in the MHDD levy, a 2.104-cent increase in the general fund levy, and a 1.376-cent decrease in the debt service levy totaling a 52.089-cent decrease in the county wide levy. There was no change in the rural levy.
===== PAGE 15 =====
## Financial Analysis of the Government's Funds
As noted earlier, the County used fund accounting to ensure and demonstrate compliance with finance-related legal requirements.
Governmental funds. The focus of the County's governmental funds is to provide information on near-term inflows, outflows, and balances of spendable resources. Such information is useful in assessing the County's financing requirements. In particular, fund balance may serve as a useful measure of a County's net resources available for spending at the end of the fiscal year.
As of the end of the current fiscal year, the County's governmental funds reported combined ending fund balances of $55,012,254, an increase of $473,154 in comparison with the prior year.
The general fund is the chief operating fund of the County. At the end of the current fiscal year, unassigned fund balance of the general fund was $25,358,494, while the total fund balance reached $31,284,187. As a measure of the general fund's liquidity, it may be useful to compare both unassigned fund balance and total fund balance to total fund expenditures. Unassigned fund balance represents 68.14% of total general fund expenditures, while total fund balance represents 84.07% of that same amount.
The fund balance of the County's general fund increased $6,000,752 during the current fiscal year. Key factors in this increase are as follows:
Revenues increased $2,975,073, due to increases in revenue categories, property and other County tax of $833,263, intergovernmental of $780,819, use of money and property of $1,228,618, and miscellaneous of $257,390.
Expenditures increased $5,591,448 primarily due to an increase in public safety and legal services of $937,184, county environment and education of $1,212,627, physical health and social services of $2,074,455, and administration of $942,651.
Other financing sources (uses) increased due to an $8,952,918 increase to transfers in for the current year.
The rural services fund has a total fund balance of $618,097, which is an increase of $132,624 from the prior year. Key factors in this increase are as follows:
Revenues increased $179,876 due to increases in the property and other county tax revenue category of $102,086 along with increases in intergovernmental of $82,491.
Expenditures increased $60,306 due to increased expenses in the county environment and education.
Other financing sources (uses) had an increase in funds transferred out of $105,056.
===== PAGE 16 =====
The secondary roads fund has a total fund balance of $5,610,872, which is a decrease of $4,388,390 from the prior year. Key factors in this decrease are as follows:
Revenue increased $1,318,839 due to an increase in the intergovernmental revenue category of $1,160,709 along with an increase of $123,775 in miscellaneous revenue.
Expenditures increased by $5,391,622 due to an increase in the capital projects of $4,293,109 along with a increase of $1,098,513 in the roads and transportation activities.
An increase in Other Financing Sources of $113,661 is attributed to the increase in transfers of $100,056 along with an increase of $13,605 for sale of capital assets.
The local option tax fund has a total fund balance of $3,893,819, which is a decrease of $977,104 from the prior year. A key factor in the decrease was:
Revenue decreased by $527,827 due to $252,850 decrease in property and other county tax along with an decrease of $278,228 of miscellaneous revenues, while expenses increased by $127,298 due to more capital road projects.
The debt service fund has a total fund balance of $7,870,435, which is a decrease of $403,796 from the prior year.
Proprietary Funds. The County's proprietary fund provides the same type of information found in the government-wide financial statements, but in more detail.
The Sunnycrest Manor Operations proprietary fund has a total net position (deficit) of $(1,094,376), an increase of $677,746 from the prior year. Key factors in the increase were:
An increase in revenues of $138,483 along with an increase in expenses of $1,224,951 led to a $1,086,468 increase in the fund's net loss before transfers.
There was an $897,082 increase in transfers to the fund.
===== PAGE 17 =====
## Budgetary Highlights
In accordance with the Code of Iowa, the Board of Supervisors annually adopts a budget following a required public notice and hearing for all governmental funds. Although the budget document presents functional disbursements by fund, the legal level of control is at the aggregated functional level, not at the fund or fund type level. The budget may be amended during the year utilizing similar statutorily prescribed procedures. The County budget is prepared on the cash basis.
Over the course of the year, the County amended its operating budget three times.
The first amendment, on November 28, 2022, net of transfers, increased revenues by $773,393 and increased disbursements by $20,919,714. This amendment reflects deliberations made by the Board of Supervisors during work sessions.
The second amendment, on April 24, 2023, net of transfers, increased revenues by $763,809 and increased disbursements by $1,632,608. This amendment reflects deliberations made by the Board of Supervisors during work sessions.
The third amendment, on May 30, 2023, net of transfers, increased revenue by $5,410 and increased disbursements by $794,258. This amendment reflects changes made by the Board of Supervisors during department work sessions and deliberations.
The net increase in revenues and other sources of $12,028,721 resulted in an amended total revenue of $72,467,256. The net increase in disbursements and other uses of $33,832,689 resulted in an amended total of $111,714,893.
Actual cash disbursements for the year totaled $71,336,458, which is $24,472,163 less than the final amended budget. The largest factor contributing to the difference were county environment and education of $13,399,352 and administration disbursements which were $2,538,289 less than the budgeted amount. This is largely due to timing of capital projects that were appropriated but not used in FY2023. Also contributing was public safety and legal services disbursements due to timing of projects were $2,419,374 less than budgeted.
===== PAGE 18 =====
## CAPITAL ASSETS AND DEBT ADMINISTRATION
## Capital Assets
At the end of FY23, Dubuque County had $167,389,094 invested in a broad range of capital assets, including public safety equipment, buildings, park facilities, roads and bridges. This amount represents a net increase (including additions and deletions) of $14,313,281 or 9.35% over last year.
| Governmental Activities | Business-Type Activities | Total |
| Assets | | | |
| Cash and Pooled Investments | $ 53,540,423 | $ 1,098,325 | $ 54,638,748 |
| Receivables | | | |
| Property tax | | | |
| Delinquent | 61,623 | - | 61,623 |
| Succeeding year | 35,438,458 | - | 35,438,458 |
| Interest and penalty on property tax | 49,692 | - | 49,692 |
| Accounts | 166,301 | 16,733 | 183,034 |
| Accrued interest | 451,592 | - | 451,592 |
| Due from Other Governments | 8,823,748 | 2,249,583 | 11,073,331 |
| Prepaid Expenses | 1,608,225 | 50,446 | 1,658,671 |
| Inventories | 998,490 | 67,420 | 1,065,910 |
| Notes Receivable | 597,588 | - | 597,588 |
| Lease Receivable | 196,344 | - | 196,344 |
| Capital Assets | | | |
| Capital assets, not being depreciated | 21,701,290 | - | 21,701,290 |
| Capital assets (net of accumulated depreciation) | 145,687,804 | - | 145,687,804 |
| Total assets | 269,321,578 | 3,482,507 | 272,804,085 |
| Deferred Outflows of Resources | | | |
| Pension Related Deferred Outflows | 2,602,586 | 817,880 | 3,420,466 |
| OPEB Related Deferred Outflows | 301,306 | 117,396 | 418,702 |
| Total deferred outflows of resources | 2,903,892 | 935,276 | 3,839,168 |
| Liabilities | | | |
| Accounts Payable | 2,012,191 | 104,745 | 2,116,936 |
| Salaries and Benefits Payable | 1,252,961 | 459,287 | 1,712,248 |
| Accrued Interest Payable | 57,113 | - | 57,113 |
| Due to Other Governments | 492,516 | 107,963 | 600,479 |
| Unearned Revenue | 6,971,927 | - | 6,971,927 |
| Long-Term Liabilities | | | |
| Portion due or payable within one year | | | |
| Bonds and notes payable, net | 1,904,598 | - | 1,904,598 |
| Compensated absences | 1,835,200 | 274,436 | 2,109,636 |
| Portion due or payable after one year | | | |
| Bonds and notes payable, net | 20,978,494 | - | 20,978,494 |
| Compensated absences | 3,349,956 | 500,953 | 3,850,909 |
| Net pension liability | 1,852,407 | 2,699,717 | 4,552,124 |
| Total OPEB liability | 1,491,789 | 656,711 | 2,148,500 |
| Total liabilities | 42,199,152 | 4,803,812 | 47,002,964 |
===== PAGE 22 =====
| Governmental Activities | Business-Type Activities | Total |
| Deferred Inflows of Resources | | | |
| Deferred Property Tax Revenue | $ 35,438,458 | $ - | $ 35,438,458 |
| Deferred Items Related to Leases | 196,344 | - | 196,344 |
| Pension Related Deferred Inflows | 1,586,027 | 452,928 | 2,038,955 |
| OPEB Related Deferred Inflows | 658,920 | 255,419 | 914,339 |
| Total deferred inflows of resources | 37,879,749 | 708,347 | 38,588,096 |
| Net Position | | | |
| Net Investment in Capital Assets | 151,199,286 | - | 151,199,286 |
| Restricted For | | | |
| Supplemental levy purposes | 4,691,118 | - | 4,691,118 |
| Secondary roads purposes | 5,626,187 | - | 5,626,187 |
| Economic development | 869,513 | - | 869,513 |
| Debt service | 1,206,755 | - | 1,206,755 |
| Capital projects | 6,992,911 | - | 6,992,911 |
| Other purposes | 1,714,110 | - | 1,714,110 |
| Unrestricted (Deficit) | 19,846,689 | (1,094,376) | 18,752,313 |
| Total net position (deficit) | $ 192,146,569 | $ (1,094,376) | $ 191,052,193 |
===== PAGE 23 =====
| | Program Revenues | Net (Expense) Revenue and Changes in Net Position |
| | Fees, Fines and Charges for Services | Operating Grants and Contributions | Capital Grants and Contributions | Governmental Activities | Business Type Activities | Total |
| Functions/Programs | | | | | | | |
| Governmental Activities | | | | | | | |
| Public safety and legal services | $ 19,993,571 | $ 1,106,063 | $ 7,593,268 | $ - | $ (11,294,240) | $ - | $ (11,294,240) |
| Physical health and social services | 4,516,424 | 57,411 | 1,396,605 | - | (3,062,408) | - | (3,062,408) |
| County environment and education | 7,709,880 | 608,640 | 2,903,895 | 250,000 | (3,947,345) | - | (3,947,345) |
| Roads and transportation | 13,913,309 | 135,261 | 6,416,479 | 6,333,404 | (1,028,165) | - | (1,028,165) |
| Governmental services to residents | 1,859,250 | 1,640,534 | 1,501,000 | - | 1,282,284 | - | 1,282,284 |
| Administration | 5,815,885 | 616,080 | 1,115,496 | - | (4,084,309) | - | (4,084,309) |
| Non-program | 185,542 | - | - | - | (185,542) | - | (185,542) |
| Interest on long-term debt | 708,511 | - | 213,359 | - | (495,152) | - | (495,152) |
| Total Governmental Activities | 54,702,372 | 4,163,989 | 21,140,102 | 6,583,404 | (22,814,877) | - | (22,814,877) |
| Business Type Activities | | | | | | | |
| Sunnycrest operations | 12,115,714 | 10,324,202 | - | - | - | (1,791,512) | (1,791,512) |
| Total Government | $ 66,818,086 | $ 14,488,191 | $ 21,140,102 | $ 6,583,404 | (22,814,877) | (1,791,512) | (24,606,389) |
| General Revenues | | | | | | | |
| Property and other County tax levied for General purposes | | | | | 31,147,574 | - | 31,147,574 |
| Debt service | | | | | 2,047,205 | - | 2,047,205 |
| Penalty and interest on property tax | | | | | 181,179 | - | 181,179 |
| State tax credits | | | | | 2,393,470 | - | 2,393,470 |
| Local option sales tax | | | | | 5,159,445 | - | 5,159,445 |
| Gambling taxes | | | | | 621,276 | - | 621,276 |
| Unrestricted investment earnings | | | | | 960,636 | - | 960,636 |
| Miscellaneous | | | | | 1,299,487 | 144,707 | 1,444,194 |
| Total General Revenues | | | | | 43,810,272 | 144,707 | 43,954,979 |
| Transfers | | | | | (2,324,551) | 2,324,551 | - |
| Change in Net Position | | | | | 18,670,844 | 677,746 | 19,348,590 |
| Net Position (Deficit) Beginning of Year, as restated | | | | | 173,475,725 | (1,772,122) | 171,703,603 |
| Net Position (Deficit) End of Year | | | | | $ 192,146,569 | $ (1,094,376) | $ 191,052,193 |
===== PAGE 24 =====
| | Special Revenue | Capital Projects | | Nonmajor Governmental Funds | Total Governmental Funds |
| General | Rural Services | Secondary Roads | American Rescue Plan | Local Option Tax | Debt Service | | | |
| Liabilities, Deferred Inflows of Resources, and Fund Balances | | | | | | | | | |
| Liabilities | | | | | | | | | |
| Accounts payable | $ 1,286,583 | $ 4,013 | $ 477,524 | $ - | $ 243,071 | $ 1,000 | $ - | $ 2,012,191 | |
| Salaries and benefits payable | 1,056,299 | 12,670 | 183,992 | - | - | - | - | 1,252,961 | |
| Due to other funds | 19,544 | 2,626 | - | - | - | - | - | 22,170 | |
| Due to other governments | 425,530 | - | 61,986 | - | - | - | 5,000 | 492,516 | |
| Unearned revenue | 184,911 | - | - | 6,324,908 | - | - | 462,108 | 6,971,927 | |
| Total liabilities | 2,972,867 | 19,309 | 723,502 | 6,324,908 | 243,071 | 1,000 | 467,108 | 10,751,765 | |
| Deferred Inflows of Resources | | | | | | | | | |
| Unavailable revenues | | | | | | | | | |
| Succeeding year | | | | | | | | | |
| property tax | 27,852,872 | 5,865,019 | - | - | - | 1,720,567 | - | 35,438,458 | |
| Other | 521,728 | 15,704 | 15,315 | - | - | 3,086 | - | 555,833 | |
| Deferred items related to leases | 196,344 | - | - | - | - | - | - | 196,344 | |
| Total deferred inflows of resources | 28,570,944 | 5,880,723 | 15,315 | - | - | 1,723,653 | - | 36,190,635 | |
| Fund Balances | | | | | | | | | |
| Nonspendable | 1,668,078 | - | 984,637 | - | - | - | - | 2,652,715 | |
| Restricted | 4,257,615 | 618,097 | 4,626,235 | - | 3,893,819 | 7,870,435 | 5,132,545 | 26,398,746 | |
| Committed | - | - | - | - | - | - | 602,299 | 602,299 | |
| Unassigned | 25,358,494 | - | - | - | - | - | - | 25,358,494 | |
| Total fund balances | 31,284,187 | 618,097 | 5,610,872 | - | 3,893,819 | 7,870,435 | 5,734,844 | 55,012,254 | |
| Total liabilities, deferred inflows of resources, and fund balances | $ 62,827,998 | $ 6,518,129 | $ 6,349,689 | $ 6,324,908 | $ 4,136,890 | $ 9,595,088 | $ 6,201,952 | $ 101,954,654 | |
===== PAGE 26 =====
| Total Governmental Fund Balances | $ 55,012,254 |
| Amounts Reported for Governmental Activities in the Statement of Net Position is Different Because: |
| Capital assets used in governmental activities are not current financial resources and, therefore, are not reported in the governmental funds. |
| These assets consist of: |
| Land | $ 5,951,746 |
| Construction in progress | 15,749,544 |
| Infrastructure, net of $84,852,518 accumulated depreciation | 100,035,994 |
| Buildings, net of $12,867,714 accumulated depreciation | 26,015,494 |
| Machinery and equipment, net of $14,880,739 accumulated depreciation | 17,687,904 |
| Improvements other than buildings, net of $1,500,921 accumulated depreciation | 1,948,412 |
| Total capital assets | 167,389,094 |
| Other long-term assets are not available to pay current period expenditures and, therefore, are deferred in the governmental funds. |
| Property taxes and intergovernmental | 555,833 |
| Pension and OPEB related deferred outflows of resources and deferred inflows of resources are not due and payable in the current year and, therefore, are not reported in the governmental funds, as follows: |
| Deferred outflows of resources | 2,903,892 |
| Deferred inflows of resources | (2,244,947) |
| Long-term liabilities applicable to the County's governmental activities are not due and payable in the current period and, therefore, are not reported as fund liabilities. Interest on long-term debt is not accrued in governmental funds, but rather is recognized as an expenditure when due. All liabilities - both current and long-term - are reported in the Statement of Net Position. |
| Balances at June 30, 2023 are: |
| Accrued interest on debt | (57,113) |
| Bonds and notes payable | (22,453,194) |
| Unamortized premiums on the issuance of bonds | (429,898) |
| Compensated absences | (5,185,156) |
| Net pension liability | (1,852,407) |
| Total OPEB liability | (1,491,789) |
| Total long-term liabilities | (31,469,557) |
| Net Position of Governmental Activities | $ 192,146,569 |
===== PAGE 27 =====
| | Special Revenue | Capital Projects | Nonmajor Governmental Funds | Total Governmental Funds |
| General | Rural Services | Secondary Roads | American Rescue Plan | Local Option Tax | Debt Service |
| Revenues | | | | | | | | |
| Property and other County tax | $ 26,057,674 | $ 5,601,843 | $ - | $ - | $ 5,159,445 | $ 2,047,268 | $ 109,719 | $ 38,975,949 |
| Interest and penalty on property tax | 171,970 | - | - | - | - | - | - | 171,970 |
| Intergovernmental | 5,025,793 | 369,980 | 7,305,627 | 12,576,613 | - | 362,356 | 34,188 | 25,674,557 |
| Licenses and permits | 85,676 | 16,600 | 104,890 | - | - | - | - | 207,166 |
| Charges for service | 2,727,840 | 34,146 | 7,250 | - | - | - | 202,080 | 2,971,316 |
| Use of money and property | 1,029,571 | - | 13,721 | - | 16,348 | - | 8,527 | 1,068,167 |
| Miscellaneous | 688,621 | - | 317,832 | - | - | - | 67,971 | 1,074,424 |
| Total revenues | 35,787,145 | 6,022,569 | 7,749,320 | 12,576,613 | 5,175,793 | 2,409,624 | 422,485 | 70,143,549 |
| Expenditures | | | | | | | | |
| Operating | | | | | | | | |
| Public safety and legal services | 18,891,766 | - | - | - | - | - | 327,866 | 19,219,632 |
| Physical health and social services | 4,502,959 | - | - | - | - | - | - | 4,502,959 |
| County environment and education | 5,433,851 | 1,017,673 | - | 1,706,990 | - | - | 116,074 | 8,274,588 |
| Roads and transportation | 515,690 | - | 9,779,181 | - | - | - | - | 10,294,871 |
| Governmental services to residents | 1,926,119 | - | - | - | - | - | - | 1,926,119 |
| Administration | 5,701,883 | - | - | - | - | - | - | 5,701,883 |
| Non-program | 185,542 | - | - | - | - | - | - | 185,542 |
| Debt service | - | - | - | - | - | 2,811,420 | 42,450 | 2,853,870 |
| Capital projects | 56,032 | - | 7,171,128 | 869,623 | 6,152,897 | - | 152,027 | 14,401,707 |
| Total expenditures | 37,213,842 | 1,017,673 | 16,950,309 | 2,576,613 | 6,152,897 | 2,811,420 | 638,417 | 67,361,171 |
| Excess (Deficiency) of Revenues Over (Under) Expenditures | (1,426,697) | 5,004,896 | (9,200,989) | 10,000,000 | (977,104) | (401,796) | (215,932) | 2,782,378 |
| Other Financing Sources (Uses) | | | | | | | | |
| Transfers in | 10,002,000 | - | 4,797,272 | - | - | - | 325,000 | 15,124,272 |
| Transfers out | (2,574,551) | (4,872,272) | - | (10,000,000) | - | (2,000) | - | (17,448,823) |
| Sale of capital assets | - | - | 15,327 | - | - | - | - | 15,327 |
| Total Other Financing Sources (Uses) | 7,427,449 | (4,872,272) | 4,812,599 | (10,000,000) | - | (2,000) | 325,000 | (2,309,224) |
| Net Change in Fund Balances | 6,000,752 | 132,624 | (4,388,390) | - | (977,104) | (403,796) | 109,068 | 473,154 |
| Fund Balances Beginning of Year | 25,283,435 | 485,473 | 9,999,262 | - | 4,870,923 | 8,274,231 | 5,625,776 | 54,539,100 |
| Fund Balances End of Year | $ 31,284,187 | $ 618,097 | $ 5,610,872 | $ - | $ 3,893,819 | $ 7,870,435 | $ 5,734,844 | $ 55,012,254 |
===== PAGE 28 =====
| Net Change in Fund Balances - Total Governmental Funds | < /td > < td style = 'text-align: center; word-wrap: break-word;' > 473,154 < /td > < /tr > < tr > < td style = 'text-align: center; word-wrap: break-word;' > Amounts Reported for Governmental Activities in the Statement of Activities are Different Because:nGovernmental funds report capital outlays as expenditures while governmental activities report depreciation expense to allocate those expenditures over the life of the assets. Capital outlay expenditures and contributed capital assets exceeded depreciation expense in the current year, as follows:nExpenditures for capital assets < /td > < td style = 'text-align: center; word-wrap: break-word;' > 17,191,958 | 14,360,246 |
| Contributed capital assets | 5,703,077 | |
| Depreciation expense | (8,534,789) | |
| In the Statement of Activities, only the gain or the loss of capital assets is reported, whereas in the governmental funds, the entire proceeds from the sale increase financial resources. Thus, the change in net position differs from the change in fund balances by the book value of assets being disposed. | | (46,965) |
| Debt proceeds and capital leases are reported as financing sources in governmental funds and thus contribute to the change in fund balance. In the Statement of Net Position, however, issuing debt increases long-term liabilities and does not affect the Statement of Activities. Similarly, repayment of principal is an expenditure in the governmental funds but reduces the liability in the Statement of Net Position. | | |
| Amortization of bond premiums | 42,981 | |
| Repayments | 2,096,208 | |
| Because some revenues will not be collected for several months after the County's year end, they are not considered available revenues and are deferred in the governmental funds as follows:\nProperty tax | 8,760 | |
| Other | 22,544 | |
| The current year County employer share of IPERS contributions are reported as expenditures in the governmental funds, but are reported as a deferred inflow of resources in the Statement of Net Position. | | 31,304 |
| Some expenses reported in the Statement of Activities do not require the use of current financial resources and, therefore, are not reported as expenditures in the governmental funds as follows:\nChange in accrued interest on debt | 6,170 | |
| Change in compensated absences | (342,374) | |
| Pension income | 512,653 | |
| OPEB expense | (120,459) | |
| | 55,990 |
| Change in Net Position of Governmental Activities | $ 18,670,844 | |
===== PAGE 29 =====
| Sunnycrest Operations |
| Assets | |
| Cash and Pooled Investments | $ 1,098,325 |
| Receivables | |
| Accounts | 16,733 |
| Due From Other Governments | 2,249,583 |
| Inventories | 67,420 |
| Prepaid Expenses | 50,446 |
| Total assets | 3,482,507 |
| Deferred Outflows of Resources | |
| Pension Related Deferred Outflows | 817,880 |
| OPEB Related Deferred Outflows | 117,396 |
| Total deferred outflows of resources | 935,276 |
| Liabilities | |
| Accounts payable | 104,745 |
| Salaries and benefits payable | 459,287 |
| Due to other governments | 107,963 |
| Long-term liabilities | |
| Portions due or payable within one year | |
| Compensated absences | 274,436 |
| Portions due or payable after one year | |
| Compensated absences | 500,953 |
| Net pension liability | 2,699,717 |
| Total OPEB liability | 656,711 |
| Total liabilities | 4,803,812 |
| Deferred Inflows of Resources | |
| Pension Related Deferred Inflows | 452,928 |
| OPEB Related Deferred Inflows | 255,419 |
| Total deferred inflows of resources | 708,347 |
| Net Position | |
| Unrestricted (Deficit) | $ (1,094,376) |
| Sunnycrest Operations |
| Cash Flows From Operating Activities | |
| Cash received from services provided | $ 11,498,926 |
| Cash received from other revenues | 144,707 |
| Cash paid for personnel services | (9,098,640) |
| Cash paid to suppliers | (3,893,704) |
| Net cash (used in) operating activities | (1,348,711) |
| Cash Flows From Noncapital Financing Activities | |
| Transfer from the General Fund | 2,324,551 |
| Net Increase in Cash and Cash Equivalents | 975,840 |
| Cash and Cash Equivalents Beginning of Year | 122,485 |
| Cash and Cash Equivalents End of Year | $ 1,098,325 |
| Reconciliation of Operating Loss to Net Cash Used | |
| For Operating Activities | |
| Operating loss | $ (1,646,805) |
| Adjustments to reconcile operating loss to net cash used in operating activities | |
| Changes in assets and liabilities | |
| Receivables | 1,174,724 |
| Inventory | 8,465 |
| Prepaids | (17,929) |
| Accounts payable | (194,793) |
| Accrued liabilities | 145,977 |
| Net pension liability | 2,594,047 |
| Deferred outflow of resources | 65,461 |
| Deferred inflow of resources | (3,363,931) |
| Other post employment benefit obligation | (113,927) |
| Net cash (used in) operating activities | $ (1,348,711) |
===== PAGE 32 =====
| Balance Beginning of Year | Increases | Decreases | Balance End of Year |
| Governmental Activities | | | | |
| Capital assets not being depreciated | | | | |
| Land and land improvements | $ 5,586,516 | $ 365,230 | $ - | $ 5,951,746 |
| Construction in progress | 4,888,207 | 20,342,269 | 9,480,932 | 15,749,544 |
| Total capital assets, not being depreciated | 10,474,723 | 20,707,499 | 9,480,932 | 21,701,290 |
| Capital assets being depreciated | | | | |
| Buildings | 38,152,605 | 730,603 | - | 38,883,208 |
| Improvements other than buildings | 3,292,959 | 156,374 | - | 3,449,333 |
| Machinery and equipment | 31,361,354 | 1,634,377 | 427,088 | 32,568,643 |
| Infrastructure | 175,741,398 | 9,147,114 | - | 184,888,512 |
| Total capital assets, being depreciated | 248,548,316 | 11,668,468 | 427,088 | 259,789,696 |
| Less accumulated depreciation for Buildings | 11,879,905 | 987,809 | - | 12,867,714 |
| Improvements other than buildings | 1,387,649 | 113,272 | - | 1,500,921 |
| Machinery and equipment | 13,005,425 | 2,255,437 | 380,123 | 14,880,739 |
| Infrastructure | 79,674,247 | 5,178,271 | - | 84,852,518 |
| Total accumulated depreciation | 105,947,226 | 8,534,789 | 380,123 | 114,101,892 |
| Total capital assets, being depreciated, net | 142,601,090 | 3,133,679 | 46,965 | 145,687,804 |
| Governmental Activities Capital Assets, Net | $ 153,075,813 | $ 23,841,178 | $ 9,527,897 | $ 167,389,094 |
===== PAGE 47 =====
Depreciation expense was charged to the following functions of the County:
| Rate of inflation
(effective June 30, 2017) | 2.60% per annum |
| Rates of salary increase
(effective June 30, 2017) | 3.25 to 16.25% average, including inflation
Rates vary by membership group. |
| Long-term investment rate of return
(effective June 30, 2017) | 7.00% compounded annually, net of investment expense, including inflation |
| Wage growth
(effective June 30, 2017) | 3.25% per annum based on 2.60% inflation and 0.65% real wage inflation. |
The actuarial assumptions used in the June 30, 2022 valuation were based on the results of a quadrennial experience study covering the period of July 1, 2017 through June 30, 2021.
Mortality rates used in the 2022 valuation were based on the PubG-2010 mortality tables with mortality improvements modeled using Scale MP-2021.
The long-term expected rate of return on IPERS' investments was determined using a building-block method in which best-estimate ranges of expected future real rates (expected returns, net of pension plan investment expense and inflation) are developed for each major asset class. These ranges are combined to produce the long-term expected rate of return by weighting the expected future real rates of return by the target asset allocation percentage and by adding expected inflation. The target allocation and best estimates of arithmetic real rates of return for each major asset class are summarized in the following table:
| Governmental Funds | Budgeted Amounts | Final to Net Variance - Positive (Negative) |
| Actual | Original | Final |
| Receipts | | | | |
| Property and other County tax | $ 38,998,410 | $ 38,265,896 | $ 38,259,753 | $ 738,657 |
| Interest and penalty on property tax | 171,753 | 116,000 | 116,000 | 55,753 |
| Intergovernmental | 13,042,010 | 11,686,169 | 12,648,477 | 393,533 |
| Licenses and permits | 219,801 | 126,380 | 128,155 | 91,646 |
| Charges for service | 2,746,669 | 2,678,858 | 2,744,711 | 1,958 |
| Use of money and property | 1,111,236 | 461,483 | 723,872 | 387,364 |
| Miscellaneous | 1,421,151 | 1,683,586 | 1,940,016 | (518,865) |
| Total receipts | 57,711,030 | 55,018,372 | 56,560,984 | 1,150,046 |
| Disbursements | | | | |
| Public safety and legal services | 18,920,825 | 19,480,246 | 21,340,199 | 2,419,374 |
| Physical health and social services | 6,654,303 | 5,701,860 | 8,548,785 | 1,894,482 |
| County environment and education | 8,077,985 | 5,904,139 | 21,477,337 | 13,399,352 |
| Roads and transportation | 10,648,958 | 11,760,476 | 11,969,373 | 1,320,415 |
| Governmental services to residents | 1,947,263 | 2,458,110 | 2,458,110 | 510,847 |
| Administration | 6,060,835 | 7,275,089 | 8,599,124 | 2,538,289 |
| Non-program | 590,825 | 1,189,100 | 780,000 | 189,175 |
| Debt service | 2,810,420 | 2,810,521 | 2,810,521 | 101 |
| Capital projects | 15,625,044 | 15,882,500 | 17,825,172 | 2,200,128 |
| Total disbursements | 71,336,458 | 72,462,041 | 95,808,621 | 24,472,163 |
| Excess (Deficiency) of Receipts Over (Under) | | | | |
| Disbursements | (13,625,428) | (17,443,669) | (39,247,637) | 25,622,209 |
| Other Financing Sources, Net | - | - | - | - |
| Excess (Deficiency) of Receipts and Other Financing | | | | |
| Sources Over (Under) Disbursements and Other | | | | |
| Financing Uses | (13,625,428) | (17,443,669) | (39,247,637) | 25,622,209 |
| Balance Beginning of Year | 66,939,657 | 54,396,890 | 66,939,657 | - |
| Balance End of Year | $ 53,314,229 | $ 36,953,221 | $ 27,692,020 | $ 25,622,209 |
| Reconciliation Between Cash and Modified | | | | |
| Accrual Basis | Governmental Funds | |
| Cash | Accrual | Modified | |
| Basis | Adjustments | Accrual Basis | |
| Revenues | $ 57,711,030 | $ 12,432,519 | $ 70,143,549 | |
| Expenditures | 71,336,458 | (3,975,287) | 67,361,171 | |
| Net | (13,625,428) | 16,407,806 | 2,782,378 | |
| Other Financing Sources, Net | - | (2,309,224) | (2,309,224) | |
| Beginning Fund Balances | 66,939,657 | (12,400,557) | 54,539,100 | |
| Ending Fund Balances | $ 53,314,229 | $ 1,698,025 | $ 55,012,254 | |
===== PAGE 62 =====
The budgetary comparison is presented as Required Supplementary Information in accordance with Governmental Accounting Standards Board Statement No. 41 for governments with significant budgetary perspective differences resulting from not being able to present budgetary comparisons for the General Fund and each major Special Revenue Fund.
In accordance with the Code of Iowa, the County Board of Supervisors annually adopts a budget on the cash basis following required public notice and hearing for all funds, except the Commissary Special Revenue Funds and Custodial Funds, and appropriates the amount deemed necessary for each of the different County offices and departments. The budget may be amended during the year utilizing similar statutorily prescribed procedures. Encumbrances are not recognized on the cash basis budget and appropriations lapse at year end.
Formal and legal budgetary control is based upon ten major classes of expenditures known as functions, not by fund. These ten functions are: public safety and legal services, physical health and social services, mental health, county environment and education, roads and transportation, governmental services to residents, administration, non-program, debt service and capital projects. Function disbursements required to be budgeted include disbursements for the General Fund, the Special Revenue Funds, the Debt Service Fund, and the Capital Projects Fund. Although the budget document presents function disbursements by fund, the legal level of control is at the aggregated function level, not by fund. Legal budgetary control is also based upon the appropriation to each office or department. During the year, three budget amendments increased budgeted disbursements by $23,346,580. The budget amendments are reflected in the final budgeted amounts.
In addition, annual budgets are similarly adopted in accordance with the Code of Iowa by the appropriate governing body as indicated: for the County Extension Office by the County Agricultural Extension Council, for the County Assessor by the County Conference Board, for the City Assessor by the City Conference Board, for the 911 System by the Joint 911 Service Board, and for Emergency Management Services by the County Emergency Management Commission.
During the year ended June 30, 2023, disbursements did not exceed the amounts budgeted by function. However, disbursements in certain departments exceeded the amounts appropriated.
===== PAGE 63 =====
| Special Revenue |
| REAP Fund | County Recorder's Records Management | Rural Economic Development | Gold Dome | Sheriff Forfeiture | TIF | Drug Task Force | Rural Community Transportation | Commissary | Opioid |
| Assets | | | | | | | | | | | | |
| Cash and Pooled Investments Receivables | $ 168,455 | $ 59,558 | $ 771,556 | $ 56,469 | $ 265,564 | $ - | $ 86,444 | $ 75,268 | $ 373,361 | $ 462,108 |
| Accrued interest | 113 | 39 | - | 38 | - | - | - | - | - | - |
| Notes Receivable | - | - | 181,588 | - | - | - | - | - | - | - |
| Total assets | $ 168,568 | $ 59,597 | $ 953,144 | $ 56,507 | $ 265,564 | $ - | $ 86,444 | $ 75,268 | $ 373,361 | $ 462,108 |
| Liabilities, Deferred Inflows of Resources, and Fund Balances | | | | | | | | | | |
| Liabilities | | | | | | | | | | | | |
| Due to other governments | $ - | $ - | $ - | $ - | $ - | $ - | $ - | $ 5,000 | - < /td > < td colspan = "3" > - |
| Unearned revenue | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | 462,108 |
| Total liabilities | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | 5,000 | - | 462,108 |
| Fund Balances | | | | | | | | | | | | |
| Restricted | $ 168,568 | 59,597 | 953,144 | 56,507 | 265,564 | - | 86,444 | 70,268 | 373,361 | - |
| Committed | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - |
| Total fund balances | 168,568 | 59,597 | 953,144 | 56,507 | 265,564 | - | 86,444 | 70,268 | 373,361 | - |
| Total liabilities, deferred inflows of resources, and fund balances | $ 168,568 | $ 59,597 | $ 953,144 | $ 56,507 | $ 265,564 | $ - | $ 86,444 | $ 75,268 | $ 373,361 | $ 462,108 |
===== PAGE 69 =====
Dubuque County Schedule 2 – Combining Statement of Revenues, Expenditures, and Changes in Fund Balances Nonmajor Governmental Funds Year Ended June 30, 2023
| Special Revenue |
| REAP Fund | County Recorder's Records Management | Rural Economic Development | Gold Dome | Sheriff Forfeiture | TIF | Drug Task Force | Rural Community Transportation | Commissary | Opioid | |
| Revenues | | | | | | | | | | | |
| Property and other County tax | $ - | $ - | $ - | $ - | $ - | $ 109,719 | $ - | $ - | $ - | $ - | $ - |
| Intergovernmental Charges for service | 29,255 | - | - | - | - | 4,933 | - | - | - | - | - |
| Use of money and property | - | 13,088 | - | - | - | - | - | - | 188,992 | - | - |
| Miscellaneous | 615 | 206 | 6,696 | 209 | 748 | - | 53 | - | - | - | - |
| Total revenues | 29,870 | 13,294 | 6,696 | 209 | 748 | 114,652 | 68,024 | - | 188,992 | - | - |
| Expenditures | | | | | | | | | | | |
| Operating | | | | | | | | | | | |
| Public safety and legal services | - | - | - | - | 15,000 | - | 72,997 | - | 239,869 | - | - |
| County environment and education | - | - | 1,422 | - | - | 114,652 | - | - | - | - | - |
| Debt Service | - | - | 42,450 | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - |
| Capital projects | - | - | - | - | - | - | 59,444 | 80,000 | - | - | - |
| Total expenditures | - | - | 43,872 | - | 15,000 | 114,652 | 132,441 | 80,000 | 239,869 | - | - |
| Excess (Deficiency) of Revenues Over (Under) Expenditures | 29,870 | 13,294 | (37,176) | 209 | (14,252) | - | (64,417) | (80,000) | (50,877) | - | - |
| Other Financing Sources | | | | | | | | | | | |
| Transfers in | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | 75,000 | - | - | - |
| Net Change in Fund Balances | 29,870 | 13,294 | (37,176) | 209 | (14,252) | - | (64,417) | (5,000) | (50,877) | - | - |
| Fund Balances Beginning of Year | 138,698 | 46,303 | 990,320 | 56,298 | 279,816 | - | 150,861 | 75,268 | 424,238 | - | - |
| Fund Balances End of Year | $ 168,568 | $ 59,597 | $ 953,144 | $ 56,507 | $ 265,564 | $ - | $ 86,444 | $ 70,268 | $ 373,361 | $ - | - |
===== PAGE 71 =====
| Capital Projects | |
| Capital Projects | Conservation Land Acquisition | Emergency Radio System | West Campus Complex | Courthouse Roof | Total |
| Revenues | | | | | | |
| Property and other County tax | $ - | $ - | $ - | $ - | $ - | $ 109,719 |
| Intergovernmental Charges for service | - | - | - | - | - | 34,188 |
| Use of money and property | - | - | - | - | - | 202,080 |
| Miscellaneous | - | - | - | - | - | 8,527 |
| - | - | - | - | - | 67,971 |
| Total revenues | - | - | - | - | - | 422,485 |
| Expenditures | | | | | | |
| Operating | | | | | | |
| Public safety and legal services | - | - | - | - | - | 327,866 |
| County environment and education | - | - | - | - | - | 116,074 |
| Debt Service | - | - | - | - | - | 42,450 |
| Capital projects | - | 12,583 | - | - | - | 152,027 |
| Total expenditures | - | 12,583 | - | - | - | 638,417 |
| Excess (Deficiency) of Revenues Over (Under) Expenditures | - | (12,583) | - | - | - | (215,932) |
| Other Financing Sources | | | | | | |
| Transfers in | - | 250,000 | - | - | - | 325,000 |
| Net Change in Fund Balances | - | 237,417 | - | - | - | 109,068 |
| Fund Balances Beginning of Year | 2,200,000 | 280,351 | 357,019 | 602,299 | 24,305 | 5,625,776 |
| Fund Balances End of Year | $ 2,200,000 | $ 517,768 | $ 357,019 | $ 602,299 | $ 24,305 | $ 5,734,844 |
===== PAGE 72 =====
| County Auditor | County Recorder | County Recorder's Electronic Transaction | County Sheriff | 911 Fund | Drainage District Fund | Agricultural Extension Education Fund | County Assessor Fund | City Assessor Fund | Schools Fund |
| Assets | | | | | | | | | | |
| Cash and Pooled Investments | | | | | | | | | | |
| County Treasurer | $ - | $ - | $ 2,391 | $ - | $ 981,416 | $ 734 | $ 2,811 | $ 595,098 | $ 366,661 | $ 329,670 |
| Other County officials | - | 131,999 | - | 103,357 | - | - | - | - | - | - |
| Receivables | | | | | | | | | | |
| Property tax | | | | | | | | | | |
| Delinquent | - | - | - | - | - | - | 1,013 | 1,591 | 831 | 115,546 |
| Succeeding year | - | - | - | - | - | - | 620,350 | 627,020 | 730,275 | 73,046,946 |
| Special assessments | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - |
| Accounts | - | 3,286 | - | - | 29,203 | - | - | - | - | - |
| Interest | - | - | - | - | 467 | - | - | - | - | - |
| Due From Other Governments | - | - | - | - | 19,309 | - | - | - | - | - |
| Total assets | - | 135,285 | 2,391 | 103,357 | 1,030,395 | 734 | 624,174 | 1,223,709 | 1,097,767 | 73,492,162 |
| Liabilities, Deferred Inflows of Resources, and Fund Balances | | | | | | | | | | |
| Liabilities | | | | | | | | | | |
| Accounts payable | - | - | - | - | 3,714 | - | - | 51 | 322 | - |
| Salaries and benefits payable | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | 31,985 | 31,424 | - |
| Due to other governments | - | 135,285 | 2,391 | 36,109 | - | 734 | 3,824 | - | - | 445,216 |
| Trust payable | - | - | - | 67,248 | - | - | - | - | - | - |
| Total liabilities | - | 135,285 | 2,391 | 103,357 | 3,714 | 734 | 3,824 | 32,036 | 31,746 | 445,216 |
| Deferred Inflows of Resources Unavailable revenues | | | | | | | | | | |
| Succeeding year | | | | | | | | | | |
| property tax | - | - | - | - | - | - | 620,350 | 627,020 | 730,275 | 73,046,946 |
| Net Position | | | | | | | | | | |
| Restricted for individuals, organizations and other governments | $ - | $ - | $ - | $ - | $ 1,026,681 | $ - | $ - | $ 564,653 | $ 335,746 | $ - |
===== PAGE 73 =====
| Federal Grantor/Pass-Through Grantor/Program or Cluster Title | Federal Financial Assistance Listing | Pass-Through Entity Identifying Number | Federal Expenditures | Amounts Passed-Through to Subrecipients |
| Department of Agriculture | | | | |
| Pass-Through Program From Iowa Department of Human Services | | | | |
| Human Services Administrative Reimbursement | | | | |
| SNAP Cluster | | | | |
| State Administrative Matching Grants for the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program | 10.561 | N/A | $ 51,074 | $ - |
| Direct Program | | | | |
| Watershed Protection and Flood Prevention | 10.904 | | 157,650 | - |
| Total Department of Agriculture | | | 208,724 | - |
| Department of Justice | | | | |
| Pass-Through Program From Iowa Department of Justice | | | | |
| Crime Victim Assistance | 16.575 | VP-23-125-VWC | 33,620 | - |
| Crime Victim Assistance | 16.575 | VP-22-125-VWC | 373 | - |
| Total Crime Victim Assistance | | | 33,993 | - |
| Violence Against Women Formula Grants | 16.588 | VW-23-52-PR | 35,367 | - |
| Direct Program | | | | |
| Bulletproof Vest Partnership Program | 16.607 | | 4,577 | - |
| Pass-Through Program From Governor's Office of Drug Control Policy | | | | |
| Public Safety Partnership and Community Policing Grants | 16.710 | 22-COPS HEROIN-02 | 13,376 | 5,430 |
| Public Safety Partnership and Community Policing Grants | 16.710 | 21-CAMP-04 | 3,791 | 2,178 |
| Public Safety Partnership and Community Policing Grants | 16.710 | 19-COPS HEROIN-02 | 3,528 | 876 |
| Total Public Safety Partnership and Community Policing Grants | 20,695 | 8,484 |
| Edward Byrne Memorial Justice Assistance Grant Program | 16.738 | 20-JAG-444697 | 66,465 | 33,232 |
| Direct Program | | | | |
| Equitable Sharing Program | 16.922 | | 15,000 | - |
| Total Department of Justice | | | 176,097 | 41,716 |
===== PAGE 84 =====
| Federal Grantor/Pass-Through Grantor/Program or Cluster Title | Federal Financial Assistance Listing | Pass-Through Entity Identifying Number | Federal Expenditures | Amounts Passed-Through to Subrecipients |
| Department of Transportation | | | | |
| Pass-Through Program From Governor's Traffic Safety Bureau Highway Safety Cluster | | | | |
| State and Community Highway Safety | 20.600 | 23-402-MOPT, Task 25-00-00 | $ 12,936 | $- |
| State and Community Highway Safety | 20.600 | 22-402-MOPT, Task 24-00-00 | 8,117 | - |
| Total State and Community Highway Safety | 21,053 | - |
| National Priority Safety Programs | 20.616 | 22-405d-F24*SE, Task 01-00-00 | 2,166 | - |
| National Priority Safety Programs | 20.616 | 23-405d-M6OT 00-25-00 | 3,560 | - |
| Total National Priority Safety Programs | 5,726 | - |
| Total Highway Safety Cluster | 26,779 | - |
| Direct Program | | | | |
| National Infrastructure Investments | 20.933 | | 489,873 | - |
| Total Department of Transportation | | | 516,652 | - |
| Department of Treasury | | | | |
| Direct Program | | | | |
| COVID-19 - Coronavirus State and Local Fiscal Recovery Funds | 21.027 | | 12,576,613 | 1,706,990 |
| Environmental Protection Agency | | | | |
| Pass-Through Program From Iowa Department of Natural Resources | | | | |
| Nonpoint Source Implementation Grants | 66.460 | 23ESDWQBMAES | 10,000 | - |
| Election Assistance Commission | | | | |
| Pass-Through Program From Iowa Election Assistance Commission | | | | |
| COVID-19 - HAVA Election Security Grants | 90.404 | 331-7122-HAVA | 1,000 | - |
===== PAGE 85 =====
| Federal Grantor/Pass-Through Grantor/Program or Cluster Title | Federal Financial Assistance Listing | Pass-Through Entity Identifying Number | Federal Expenditures | Amounts Passed-Through to Subrecipients |
| Department of Health and Human Services Pass-Through Program From Buchanan County | | | | |
| Public Health Emergency Preparedness | 93.069 | 5881BT01 | $ 24,843 | $ - |
| Iowa Department of Public Health COVID-19 - Epidemiology and Laboratory Capacity for Infectious Diseases | 93.323 | 5885BT431 #12 | 302,566 | - |
| COVID-19 - Epidemiology and Laboratory Capacity for Infectious Diseases | 93.323 | 5885BT431 #14 | 13,070 | - |
| COVID-19 - Epidemiology and Laboratory Capacity for Infectious Diseases | 93.323 | 5885BT431 #13 | 6,908 | - |
| Total Epidemiology and Laboratory Capacity for Infectious Diseases | 322,544 | - |
| COVID-19 - Immunization Cooperative Agreements | 93.268 | 5885BT431 #8 | 65,877 | 55,877 |
| COVID-19 - Immunization Cooperative Agreements | 93.268 | 5885BT431 #17 | 19,331 | 19,331 |
| Immunization Cooperative Agreements | 93.268 | 5883I429 | 18,895 | 18,895 |
| Total Immunization Cooperative Agreements | 104,103 | 94,103 |
| Well-Integrated Screening and Evaluation for Women Across the Nation | 93.436 | 5883NB11WW | 7,000 | 7,000 |
| Well-Integrated Screening and Evaluation for Women Across the Nation | 93.436 | 5882NB11WWE | 1,075 | 1,075 |
| Total Well-Integrated Screening and Evaluation for Women Across the Nation | 8,075 | 8,075 |
===== PAGE 86 =====
| Federal Grantor/Pass-Through Grantor/Program or Cluster Title | Federal Financial Assistance Listing | Pass-Through Entity Identifying Number | Federal Expenditures | Amounts Passed-Through to Subrecipients |
| Department of Health and Human Services (continued) Pass-Through Program From Iowa Department of Human Services Human Services Administrative Reimbursement Title IV-E Prevention Program | 93.472 | N/A | $ 1,519 | $ - |
| Direct Program COVID-19 - Provider Relief Fund and American Rescue Plan Rural Distribution | 93.498 | | 95,836 | - |
| Pass-Through Program From Iowa Department of Human Services Child Support Enforcement Human Services Administrative Reimbursement | 93.563 | BOC 19-005 | 149,955 | - |
| Refugee and Entrant Assistance - State-Administered Programs CCDF Cluster Child Care Mandatory and Matching Funds of the Child Care and Development Fund | 93.566 | N/A | 139 | - |
| Foster Care - Title IV-E | 93.596 | N/A | 11,675 | - |
| Adoption Assistance - Title IV-E | 93.658 | N/A | 10,709 | - |
| Social Services Block Grant | 93.659 | N/A | 5,978 | - |
| Children's Health Insurance Program | 93.667 | N/A | 13,510 | - |
| Medicaid Cluster Medical Assistance Program | 93.767 | N/A | 890 | - |
| Iowa Department of Public Health Cancer Prevention and Control Programs for State, Territorial and Tribal Organizations | 93.778 | N/A | 58,830 | - |
| Total Department of Health and Human Services | | 5883NB11 | 23,104 | 23,104 |
| | | 831,710 | 125,282 |
| Department of Homeland Security Pass-Through Program From Iowa Department of Homeland Security and Emergency Management COVID-19 - Disaster Grants-Public Assistance | 93.898 | | | |
| 97.036 | 4018-DR-IA | 233,459 | - |
Total Federal Financial Assistance
===== PAGE 87 =====
## Note 1 - Basis of Presentation
The accompanying schedule of expenditures of federal awards (the schedule) includes the federal award activity of Dubuque County, Iowa, under programs of the federal government for the year ended June 30, 2023. The information is presented in accordance with the requirements of Title 2 U.S. Code of Federal Regulations Part 200, Uniform Administrative Requirements, Cost Principles, and Audit Requirements for Federal Awards (Uniform Guidance). Because the schedule presents only a selected portion of the operations of the County, it is not intended to and does not present the financial position, changes in net position or fund balance, or cash flows of the County.
## Note 2 - Summary of Significant Accounting Policies
Expenditures reported in the schedule are reported on the modified accrual basis of accounting, except for subrecipient expenditures, which are recorded on the cash basis. Such expenditures are recognized following the cost principles contained in the Uniform Guidance, wherein certain types of expenditures are not allowable or are limited as to reimbursement.
## Note 3 - Indirect Cost Rate
The County has not elected to use the 10% de minimis cost rate.
## Note 4 - Provider Relief Funds
The County received amounts from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) through the Provider Relief Fund (PRF) and American Rescue Plan (ARP) program (Federal Financial Assistance Listing/CFDA #93.498). The County incurred eligible expenses and, therefore recognized revenue totaling $129,642, $512,241, and $95,836 for the years ended June 30, 2020, June 30, 2021, and June 30, 2022, respectively, in the financial statements. However, the PRF expenditures are not recognized on the schedule until the expenditures are required to be included on the report to HHS, as required under the PRF program.
===== PAGE 88 =====
The following summarized the Provider Relief Funds and the timing of when the amounts were recognized in the financial statements.
| Federal Department/Program Title/Grant Name | Federal Financial Assistance Listing | Amounts Recognized in Accordance with GAAP for the Year Ended June 30, 2020 | Amounts Recognized in Accordance with GAAP for the Year Ended June 30, 2021 | Amounts Recognized in Accordance with GAAP for the Year Ended June 30, 2022 |
| Department of Health and Human Services\nHealth Resources and Services Administration | | | | |
| COVID-19 - Provider Relief Fund and American Rescue Plan (ARP) Rural Distribution - Period 1 (included in 2021 Schedule) | 93.498 | $ 129,642 | $ 298,393 | $ - |
| COVID-19 - Provider Relief Fund and American Rescue Plan (ARP) Rural Distribution - Period 2 (included in 2022 Schedule) | 93.498 | - | 121,650 | - |
| COVID-19 - Provider Relief Fund and American Rescue Plan (ARP) Rural Distribution - Period 3 (included in 2022 Schedule) | 93.498 | - | 92,198 | - |
| COVID-19 - Provider Relief Fund and American Rescue Plan (ARP) Rural Distribution - Period 4 (included in 2023 Schedule) | 93.498 | - | - | 95,836 |
| Total Provider Relief Fund and American Rescue Plan (ARP) Rural Distribution | | $ 129,642 | $ 512,241 | $ 95,836 |
===== PAGE 89 =====
## Part I: Summary of the Independent Auditor's Results:
| Financial Statements |
| Type of auditor's report issued | Unmodified |
| Internal control over financial reporting:\nMaterial weaknesses identified\nSignificant deficiencies identified not considered to be material weaknesses | No\nNone Reported |
| Noncompliance material to financial statements noted? | No |
| Federal Awards |
| Internal control over major program:\nMaterial weaknesses identified\nSignificant deficiencies identified not considered to be material weaknesses | Yes\nNone Reported |
| Type of auditor's report issued on compliance for major program: | Qualified |
| Any audit findings disclosed that are required to be reported in accordance with Uniform Guidance 2 CFR 200.516(a): | Yes |
| Identification of major program: |
| Name of Federal Program | Federal Financial Assistance Listing |
| COVID-19 - Coronavirus State and Local Fiscal Recovery Funds | 21.027 |
| Dollar threshold used to distinguish between type A and type B programs: | $ 750,000 |
| Audited by qualified as low risk auditor? | No |
Auditee qualified as low-risk auditee? No
===== PAGE 90 =====
## Part II: Financial Statement Findings:
There were no findings to report.
Part III: Federal Award Findings and Questioned Costs:
## 2023 -001
Department of the Treasury
FFAL #21.027
COVID-19 - Coronavirus State and Local Fiscal Recovery Funds
Applicable Federal Award Number and Year – SLFRP0515 for 2021
## Reporting
Material Weakness in Internal Control Over Compliance and Material Noncompliance
Criteria: 2 CFR 200.303(a) establishes that the auditee must establish and maintain effective internal control over the federal award that provides assurance that the entity is managing the federal award in compliance with federal statutes, regulations, and conditions of the federal award.
Condition: The County’s quarterly Project and Expenditure Reports were not reviewed and approved by a separate individual outside of the preparer. The reports submitted in fiscal year 2023 did not contain obligation and expenditure information for $10,000,000 in revenue replacement expenditures allocated to fiscal year 2023 eligible employee wages.
Cause: The County did not have an internal control process in place to ensure a secondary review and approval of the Project and Expenditure Reports.
Effect: Without a secondary review and approval, there is a greater possibility that the reports may not be accurately completed.
Questioned Costs: None reported.
Context: A nonstatistical sample of two out of the four quarterly Project and Expenditure Reports were tested.
Repeat Finding from Prior Years: No
Recommendation: We recommend the County implement a control process which includes a secondary review and approval of the Project and Expenditure Reports.
Views of Responsible Officials: Moving forward, the Finance Director will review and approve the reports prior to being submitted.
===== PAGE 91 =====
## Part IV: Other Findings Related to Required Statutory Reporting:
2023-IA-A Certified Budget – Disbursements during the year ended June 30, 2023 did not exceed the amount budgeted by function. However, during the year ended June 30, 2023, disbursements exceeded the amounts appropriated in various departments.
Recommendation – The budget should have been amended in accordance with Chapter 331.435 of the Code of Iowa before disbursements were allowed to exceed the budget.
Chapter 331.434 (6) of the Code of Iowa authorizes the Board of Supervisors, by resolution, to increase or decrease appropriations of one office or department by increasing or decreasing the appropriation of another office or department as long as the function budget is not increased. Such increases or decreases should be made before disbursements are allowed to exceed the appropriation.
Views of Responsible Officials – The County works to complete all amendments in a timely manner. Continued efforts will be made to ensure compliance.
2023-IA-B Questionable Expenditures – No expenditures that we believe may not meet the requirements of public purpose as defined in an Attorney General's opinion dated April 25, 1979, were noted.
2023-IA-C Travel Expense – No expenditures of County money for travel expenses of spouses of County officials and/or employees were noted.
2023-IA-D Business Transactions – Business transactions between the County and County officials and/or employees are detailed as follows: